Floor mount versus hanging pedals

Ham Sammich

Anybody with an opinion on this?  from what I've seen while searching, If it's a 50/50 kind of debate, which is easier to install and service?  I'm thinking floor would have to be, but I have no experience here.  Any hot rod or street car we've ever built has always had hanging pedals. This isn't a debate about points or rules.  Just an opinion on the pedals.

Geometry and clearances of the application is probably the biggest determining factor.  What's on either side of the firewall, where do the masters and reservoirs fit, etc.  I've seen older rods with bottom mount.  Factory for my old Ghia is bottom mount, but I switched to top when I put my Tilton set-up in it.  Easier to mount and get at in that particular instance.

• Like 2

I like the reverse reservoir top mount..  For me it's easy to think of adding a bar below the dash to mount them off of..  Masters back toward the driver..  Remote reservoir on the dash bar..

image.jpeg

Edited by Xph
  • Like 2

From a drivers perspective, floor mount is a more natural motion.  But as mentioned, installation,rules and cost typically drive what type is installed.  Floor mount boxes (at least from AP) are usually considerably more expensive than hanging.

Here is some newly-released pedal-box pron:

Reverse-mount, pull-type, sliding pedal box

Bring that big boy wallet.  5-figures, not including the masters, reservoirs, etc. :blink:

2 hours ago, Bremsen said:

Bring that big boy wallet.  5-figures, not including the masters, reservoirs, etc. :blink:

And I see that as the rub for chump...   yes there are pedals in that range...  but that setup above was about 500$  and you can get some wilwood pedals with three masters for around 300, includes the bias adjuster...