Preventing rust/corrosion in cooling system.

Ian

So me being relatively new to the Endurance racing side of things, how is everyone dealing with rust and corrosion in their cooling systems?

Our car spent a large part of its life as a Stage Rally car, and therefore the cooling system was always charged with antifreeze.  When we converted the car this spring to Chump spec, we dumped the coolant and filled with water and water wetter.  When I dumped the water this week in preparation for winter, the water was very nasty, rusty, brown.  Not milky like HG failure, just very rusty.  The car ran 3 events this year and a track day without ever opening the cooling system.

I have to imagine this has a negative effect on boiling point.  Is this something everyone else has figured out how to combat, or is it a non issue, and I'm just being paranoid

1 hour ago, red0 said:

6f1d13d0-b768-4efb-85ec-32f760f12198_1.1

I said I'm new to endurance racing, not to cars.  Come on, give me more credit than that.  I was hoping the WW would provide enough corrosion protection, but I guess not.

1 hour ago, JDChristianson said:

Sounds like your dumping out residual old antifreeze, maybe?    Maybe a good flush in the spring and then fill using water wetter 

One of the reasons I switched to endurance racing, was because the engine, and trans blew at a rally, and my wallet was tired of fixing the car every race.  So the radiator, and engine were both "new" for this year.  The engine was a fresh rebuild, and the bare block spent lots of time in a hot tank getting cleaned, and the rad was new off the shelf.  Most of the hoses were replaced as well, and the heater core deleted.  Ive been running the car for a long time, and when I dumped the coolant, it was clean and green.  The water came out very rusty brown.  Not just residual coolant.  A little discoloration would have been fine.

1 minute ago, SonsOfIrony said: