E30 cage question

I didn't see anywhere in the rules where it specified the design of the rear stays (unless I missed it). I did X style instead of strait, do any of you guys see any issues with this? This is a new build and im going through tech this weekend. I dont want to have any surprises being 12hrs from my shop, and this is my only question mark. 

IMG_2300.jpg

I would email Phil.

I expect that Not to pass as is.  It says 2 back stays, which I would interpret to mean 2 unbroken tubes.  Since you only have a single unbroken tube you may need to add gussets, if that's passable at all.

It also says an X brace may be "added" to rear back stays, which in rulebookease means the actual back stays must be directly rear facing.

Edited by SonsOfIrony

I have seen cars like this run the series. As a cage builder I don't see why this is better than the 2 rear stays. There is nothing really to keep the main hoop fixed X's themselves are not as good by themselves. They are outstanding when Incorporated with parallels. 

49 minutes ago, blackjackT7 said:

3.2.4. Appropriate main-hoop rear-supports (backstays, labeled “6”) with no bends, located as close to 45 degrees from horizontal as practical.

This is the only thing in the rules that refer to the backstays. 

Agreed.  However, you have a back stay.  That 1 tube is NOT continuous.

This is the same sort of interpretation used for the "X" door bars.  They must be 2 continuous tubes.

I would expect that to fail.

3.2.4. Appropriate main-hoop rear-supports (backstays, labeled “6”) with no bends, located as close to 45 degrees from horizontal as practical.

No x crossed backstays will not pass tech.  You can add two bars to your existing cage but your backstays need to meet the above rule and match the picture shown in the 2018 BCR.

Phil McKinney 

• Thanks 1

• Technical Advisory Committee
3 hours ago, blackjackT7 said: