Coming from Lemons Engine VPI help please

ajj73

Hi, I am new to Champcar and trying to figure out where we are in terms of points. Here is the situation. We have a MK2 VW golf (200 pts) that originally had a 1.8L engine. The car as we purchased it has a 2.0 shortblock from a 1996 2.0L golf.  So, engine swap gives me 50 points with the hp change. HOWEVER, the car has an aftermarket head and cam. This gives me an additional 150 points. My question is this: the aftermarket head, requires the use of the intake manifold that was originally on the car- the 1.8L manifold. Do I get charged points for using the original stock manifold from the original car? Also, the car is megasquirted and uses gm coils for ignition (distributor is now a cam position sensor).  Are those coils charged at 20 points for an aftermarket ignition system or 10 pts for an aftermarket coil? Can someone please tell me the total points for this? Thanks very much in advance. 

IMG_0035.jpg

39 minutes ago, DRVOLKS said:

its just a replacement no points and using the intake from the OEM engine no points. just email Phil  

www.DRVOLKS.com

Nope. Can't use the original intake.  Can't mix and match parts from the original and swapped engines.

It would be an intake swap.

The coils are probably points, but I don't know how much.

• Like 1

Wait, do you mean intake manifold or do you mean the device that gets air to the throttle body?

Anything is free before the throttle body.

So, you could use the original intake if It is before the throttle body.

My original post was thinking intake manifold.

• Like 1