wvumtnbkr

What can you tell me about sc300?

What are the weak points, etc...

A 500 point competitive car intrigues me...

Anybody know where I can find one?

Are parts hard to find?

Any info is appreciated!

Thanks,

Rob R

3 minutes ago, wvumtnbkr said:

Fragile compared to a t5?  

Something w/ the cluster gear.

I have to step aside now and let those with direct knowledge speak.

I have no experience racing an SC300, but I just built an E46 and looked pretty hard at an SC300 first.  It just seemed that parts were somewhat scarce, whereas junkyards are filling up every day with E46s.  Ultimately parts availability swayed my decision.  

• Like 1

I haven't broken a  transmission yet.  Engines and transmissions are getting much harder to find at what I consider a reasonable price.  Rod bolt let go on one motor and a tuning error (mine), most likely killed our 2nd motor in as many races.

Edited by Hurljohn

We ran a Mk3 Supra last year, and are now working on a new build partially due to parts availability/reliability. While I can't speak directly of the SC300, it is closely related, and @zack_280 hit the nail on the head.

Finding stock parts for our car is hard. There is no "drive to a junkyard an hour away" or "run to the parts store" mid-race for things we need outside of fluids. We're having a hard time finding basics like new control arms (they have built in ball joints, used ones pop up from time to time, but already have 80k+ miles on them), and we kept munching wheel bearings this past season. Lots of aftermarket stuff with fancy heim joints and stuff, but stock parts, not so much. 

From what I've seen of the MK3 platform, the only efficient way to get spares and run a race is to buy whole cars cheap and strip them, to have spares of everything that can't be replaced with an off the shelf from a different car.

I hope the SC300 isn't nearly as bad, or that maybe we're just really bad at finding parts, but this is what we've found so far :(

• Like 1