wvumtnbkr

What size wheel and tire for e46?

Anybody?

My plan is to be at the pointy end of the field again.  What are the ideal sizes for tires and wheels.

Assuming I need a 17 to clear 330 brakes.

I always thought the optimum (affordable) track car was an E46 M3 on 275's.  But you don't have S54 power so 255's is probably your best size, maybe stretch them a bit if you can find the wheel to do it.

We run 17x9 wheels and 245/40 tires on ours. 

BimmerWorld TE/AL forged because we were breaking too many cheap ones. It’s been cheaper over a season and a half to run the good stuff. 

Edited by JCrist
  • Like 1

I've got 255s on a 17x9.5" Apex ARC-8 wheel, but I've got MCS 1-way coil overs, so you might not be able to run the 255s.  I ran 245s on a 9 with no issue before the coil overs.  Tire racks TR Motorsports has an affordable 9" wheel for an E36 M3 that fits.  I have no experience with racing or hitting things using that wheel, but I drive flat out when I track day and it survived that.  

9 hours ago, zack_280 said:

I've got 255s on a 17x9.5" Apex ARC-8 wheel, but I've got MCS 1-way coil overs, so you might not be able to run the 255s.  I ran 245s on a 9 with no issue before the coil overs.  Tire racks TR Motorsports has an affordable 9" wheel for an E36 M3 that fits.  I have no experience with racing or hitting things using that wheel, but I drive flat out when I track day and it survived that.  

Let me know if you have any interest on selling those 9" wheels. I have an e36 m3 if they fit. 

16 hours ago, E. Tyler Pedersen said:

Let me know if you have any interest on selling those 9" wheels. I have an e36 m3 if they fit. 

I'm keeping them.  They are backup wheels for the E46 and track day wheels for my E36 M3.  You can still get them for $160 - $200 per wheel depending on your style preference.

Not sure if this link will work, but here you go.

https://www.tirerack.com/wheels/results.jsp?&autoMake=BMW&autoModel=M3&autoYear=1995&autoModClar=