wvumtnbkr

Teach me about fuel cell flappers...

So I once had a fuel cell in my old malibu.  I couldn't get the car to take fuel quickly due to the fuel cell flapper.

I was thinking about doing a fuel cell for my new build (this is the easiest time to do it).

I'm scared that the fuel cell won't take fuel quickly.

What do y'all do with the flapper to make sure it doesn't restrict the fuel going in?

Any help is appreciated.   I am a bit of a newb with fuel cells, so dumb it down for me please.

I never thought about the flapper being the restriction (now you have me rethinking that slightly), but I was able to speed ours up by increasing the vent breather size. The larger it is, the faster you can evacuate the air being displaced. 

The modern Fuelsafe brand fill plates with rollover flappers have no such issue. I fueled a car with one of these last year and it took fuel as fast as I could pour it... close to 1/2 gallon per second.

Edited by enginerd

Make sure the flapper is oriented so that the fuel's momentum opens the flapper and not just the weight.

In other words, the hinge needs to be closest to the side of the car that you're filling from.

• Like 1

Cells only take fuel in as fast as the air in the celland  vent can evacuate. What size vent are you using! 

If you are using a small vent then sure has to escape through the filler while fuel is coming in which in turn slows the girl trying to get in. I use a 1.25" vent with discriminator valve. 

I use a Pyrotect 22 gallon fuel cell with a spring loaded flapper.. You also need to make sure flapper has a recess below the valve in the foam for it to open into. Never had an issue.

So, I might be an idiot...

It seems like with the fuel cell I was using there is a flapper valve that is made for a remote fill and a standard fill.

The standard fill flapper is actually pushed out of the way by the fueling device.

The remote fill flapper is located on the remote fill port (where the gas cap is).