Anyone build their own shop?

• Technical Advisory Committee

I mean, literally, built your own shop?

I have wanted to build a shop for a long time.  That time might be coming soon.  I've been saying that for 3 years now though, lol.

Any tips, tricks, lessons learned?  Anything specific about your shop that you can't live without?  Anything you did that you regret and cant stand?  

Any suggestions on where to get some "stamped" plans that don't come along with a GC and dont cost a small fortune?   I know what I want, just need someone certificated to approve what I have drawn.

I plan on contracting out the concrete and roof, but I hope to handle everything else.

• Like 2

The metal building guys have set plans for an endless number of sizes. Be sure to get concrete guys to level the floor not just a smooth floor. Large electrical panel and lots of lighting. And I always wanted a white epoxy floor too. Not a recommendation but something like this. 

https://gensteel.com/steel-building-kits/auto-repair

Edited by TimS
Added info

Things on my list for when I build one in a couple years:

Loft / attic space for storage. Epoxy floor is very nice. Built-in work benches with powerstrips. Utility sink. One perfectly level bay for scales / setup. Lift. Air compressor in attic with coiled hose down to floor. Insulated walls / heating. TV with internet for ChampCar live. 

• Administrators

I have two out buildings right now. One for storage and one for the shop. They were here when I bought the house. Things I would have done from the start:

- insulate the shop

- install furnace for heat and a/c

- epoxy the floor

- install led lights all over the shop

- create a work area for drill press, bench grinder, vice, etc

- pallet racking to store spare parts

- built in shelves to store supplies (brake cleaner l, towels, etc)

- a storage area to keep items when I'm working on a car 

- tire storage shelves

- set outlets all over the shop for easy access to electrical