Kjhall

Understanding the rules..

I'm new to champcar racing, but have run some other series and other types of racing. 

I'm looking to put together a 78 Camaro to run at a few of the races this year but cannot say that i totally understand the rules on what we are allowed to run. From what ive read that car can be run with a 350 and saginaw trans as long as thats what came in that car from factory. Assuming that that is the requirements, does the year of the motor matter as long as the motor remains equivalent to what was factory installed. 

Basically my question is.. if i buy a car with no motor and trans and per the vin that car came with a 350 and 4 speed and as long as i install a 350 and 4 speed back in that car, it will be legal per the champcar rules. 

6 minutes ago, Kjhall said:

I'm new to champcar racing, but have run some other series and other types of racing. 

I'm looking to put together a 78 Camaro to run at a few of the races this year but cannot say that i totally understand the rules on what we are allowed to run. From what ive read that car can be run with a 350 and saginaw trans as long as thats what came in that car from factory. Assuming that that is the requirements, does the year of the motor matter as long as the motor remains equivalent to what was factory installed. 

Basically my question is.. if i buy a car with no motor and trans and per the vin that car came with a 350 and 4 speed and as long as i install a 350 and 4 speed back in that car, it will be legal per the champcar rules. 

I’ll start with you can’t pick and choose a year like that, for example, don’t come with a vortec engine without declaring the heads/intake/carb as a swap

Edited by Team Infiniti

45 minutes ago, Kjhall said:

You are correct. Here are the general steps. 

1) You pick a car and year on the VPI table, 78 Camaro v8. There’s a point value for that car.