Petition to stop rule changes

Thoughts???

Only allow 2 fixed point changes per year.   This includes during the season changes to the BCCR.   

Except for the following: 

- Safety updates 

- VPI adjustments

- Simple clarifications

- outright banning of parts (certain “special tires” that come on the market etc.  

- Swap weight adjustments 

- Emergency changes that require unanimous BOD approval.  

Reasoning:

Im new to Champcar. The number of rule changes that have had points implications since i started building my car 1 year ago is ridiculous.  I’ve read lots about how a 500 point car 5 years ago is now 380.  This is also known as speed creep.   Several changes were made and published to the BCCR only to be overturned or changed after a few months.  
If a team wants to be competitive, they are constantly changing their car to suit the rules. 

Hopefully this will do several things:

-Encourage the BOD to prioritize changes.  

- Force the changes to be properly thought out and researched before publishing. 
- Slow speed creep down

- Stop teams from spending money on upgrades every single year.  

Any ideas how how to word this better or things to add?

• Thanks 2
  • Confused 1

The ruleset needs to be both proactive and reactive.   

If the rule set was fixed you would get extremely perverse results as people take advantage of the open ruleset which is far from perfect.  

I do however think any rule change needs to be in 100% alignment with the vision and mission of ChampCar.  Every decision should be a progression towards the vision.

• Like 5
  • Thanks 2

Add in that swap weight changes need to be announced with the reasoning behind it. Too easy to "help" someone out discretely and there is no accountability.

How many people knew an 88 Supra has a swap weight of 3600 pounds? Or an 88 CRX is 2300?

30 minutes ago, petawawarace said:

I’ve read lots about how a 500 point car 5 years ago is now 380.