New build questions

BILL

Newbie here wanting to get involved in endurance stuff.

1980 camaro. Engine 1970 lt1, trans t10.

Can I use an aftermarket steel block  (brodix, dart, world) still a 4in bore 350 main or is that totally illegal?

Same for the rest of the rotating assembly. Eagle rotating steel crank 3.48, 5.7 rods,flat top forged piston. Stock dimensions on all.

The 80 camaro and 70 both have a 150pt base so I figure there wouldn't be penalty in a swap.

Don't flame me..just trying to get an idea of how I wanna build this car and what I can and can not do. 

Thanks, Bill

I was almost expecting green font there.....

They are the same generation but different models. You could completely convert the 1970 (technically 1970 1/2?) to 1980 specs or vice versa but not really mix and match parts betwen 1970 and 1980 to make a unicorn.

I would guess that all of that is a no go. Stock blueprinting is probably ok, but replacement HP parts with names like brodix, dart, world, eagle, etc... probably raises a lot of eyebrows....(and protests if you win/show/place)

Given that, there are plenty of ways to replicate those advantages with "stock" parts and still stay within the rules. Just more expensive and time consuming 

Edited by Throoster
spelling/grammer

The block is an equivalent replacement so I don't see why there would be an issue. Other parts should be the same.

Saying that, for the power levels you'll be running it certainly isn't necessary. Of course assuming the new parts are machined correctly, it's likely cheaper to go that way versus rebuilding/machining all the factory parts. The block on the other hand would seem to be a good bit more than just cleaning up a factory one.