Help needed - Newbie Watkins Glen

I am new to iRacing and the ChampCar league and was looking to get some help. I am an HPDE guy looking to get geared up to go racing next year. I have been using iRacing to practice at my home track primarily but I wanted to join the race series to learn about driving in a more competitive environment, using the mirrors, etc. 

my problem is learning the tracks fast enough to be able to keep up with the group. I am running 2:16 at Watkins Glen this week. With a family I don’t have a ton of time to devote to practice.

Do you guys have any good resources to learn the track? I am using the AIM software for telemetry. If anyone would be willing to share a session of data I’d love to see where I’m losing time. 

Welcome to car racing. I think this is the biggest hurtle in our series.  Unless there is a test and tune days next to impossible to get seat time before the race. Even test and tune days ($200 to $500) with inspection is kind of a wash out if you have to fix something from tech.  Do like a lot of newbies do. Turn the first day into a long test day. Get everyone in and on the track. 10 minute pit stops. Just ease into it. Then Sunday you can try to race and be competitive. This is a race of reliability not flat out speed. After several trips to the same track the butterflies in your stomach and death grip on the steering wheel is a little more relaxed. Hope this helps and just my experience in Champ Car. Best place and price  for wheel to wheel racing.

Edited by 333 Kinkle

5 hours ago, SpacemanSpiff said:

I am new to iRacing and the ChampCar league and was looking to get some help. I am an HPDE guy looking to get geared up to go racing next year. I have been using iRacing to practice at my home track primarily but I wanted to join the race series to learn about driving in a more competitive environment, using the mirrors, etc.