CANBUS Integration Between Flagtronics, Dataloggers and ECU's

WastedAccounts

https://forum.champcar.org/topic/20599-flagtronics-is-full-implementation-still-on-schedule/?do=findComment&comment=472911

Anyone want to talk about CANBUS? I do and I wanted to break the conversation out of the thread linked above from General.  I’ve put a bunch of energy into the topic this year while wiring an MS3Pro Evo, AiM MXG1.2 and Flagtronics FT200 into my car and I’ve been nerding out on it. And through shear determination I've even had some success. I’ve had many failures as well and learned a few lessons I thought I could share. I’m not an expert, I expect and hope to be corrected by my fellow racers wherever I am wrong.  

I’ve been setting up flag integrations from the FT200 to my AiM dash and I've built a few alarms for different flags but still need to test them. Currently I’m working to see if I can get the MS3 Pit Lane Limiter working off the Pit Lane signal from Flagtronics so I'll have an automatic pit speed limiter with no need for a physical button! 

A big pitfall I might be able to help others avoid with the AiM device is how to avoid buying or building an unnecessary 22pin connector to connect extra CAN devices like I did. A lot of energy was spent getting an understanding of how to wire CAN devices into a network and devices communicate.

Device Setup:

A very very simple CANBUS network description: A Canbus network is multiple devices on a single, two wire, network. Physical wiring is spoke-hub style but logical processing is a bus and two devices must have terminating resistors indicating the ends of the bus line.

Specifically for the AiM MXG1.2, MegaSquirt MS3Pro Evo, Flagtronics FT200 combination:

The AiM MXG1.2 has a terminating resistor you can enable or disable in RaceStudio

Flagtronics does not have a terminating resistor

The MS3Pro Evo has a terminating resistor that cannot be disabled