Racing with a Disability?

Hey everyone

I've been eyeing Champ (Chump?) car for years as I've tried to fulfill my car racing needs with autocross and the occasional open track day, but I think it's finally time to take the endurance racing plunge. I recently came to own a free 84 305 Camaro from a family member. I searched the forums and couldn't find any specific info pertaining to my exact situation. I wanted to get some insight and thoughts from fellow racers first before I email the champ board on anything I might want to say.

Getting to the point here, 32 years ago I was born a healthy baby boy with the exception that my left arm ends a few inches below my elbow! No explanation, my mom didn't drink or do drugs, I just came out that way. My parents raised me as If I was anybody else which helped me to learn to adapt, and it hasn't stopped me from achieving my dreams of becoming a civil engineer and architect. I'm also an accomplished welder and have been known to rebuild a pretty mean small block!

Long story short, I'm concerned that I may get some pushback from any safety people on being able to properly drive a car. The Camaro in question is an auto and I plan to keep it that way although I do have a stick shift pickup I can drive without issue. I have encountered many doubters over the years, which is understandable and I don't take offense to concerns over safety. I'm obviously different than most race car drivers but feel I can drive and exit a vehicle in an emergency just as safe as a two handed person. I would be happy to meet with any of the safety people to show them if needed. And obviously I can type on a computer just fine haha.

Basically whether it be the rim on the steering wheel, a wrench or a TIG welding rod, I just hold things on my left by pinching them in the "crack" of my elbow. I could probably have my wife take a picture of this tonight if anyone was curious lol.