New guy needs some splaining on stuff

67Mustang

Hey there, new dummy here.  I kind of asked this stuff in a different thread but realized it was probably more appropriate to start a thread so here is what I posed in the fuel thread:

I'm just studying, thinking, etc. 

So far I think I understand that... for example.. if a guy has a piece of crap 67 Mustang that it is worth 150 points all day long no matter what v-8 it came with, ie any of the 1967 price list option engine's.. 150 points no matter which one.  Same for rear gears and the trans.  So for 150 points, I start with a 325 horse 390 FE, a close ratio toploader 4 spd and 3.25:1 gears and a limited slip.  I can do the Shelby drop for no points, I can box A arms for no points.  If I modify my strut rods to adjustable with Heims, that's 5 points each even if I do the machine work.  If I put spherical bearings in the A arms, 5pts each or a limited total per corner.  I start with 4 piston K-H front discs, and if I meet the 2X rule, I can easily upgrade to period correct Larger Galaxie front brakes.  I'm stuck with the rear drums unless I can put discs back there under the 2X rule.  Is this read brake part correct, or am I just stuck with drums?

No dog rings in my toploader.  Clutch? is that free, can I go double disc hydraulic or am I stuck with a single plate and the mech linkage.

So, my 390 is 10:1 or 10.5:1 (can't remember) so is there a points hit for higher comp pistons or is that just verboten?

Heads, 100 points non OEM.  Can I personally port stock heads for no points?  Is it 100 points whether it is a cast iron428 CJ head or a Blue Thunder AL head?

Cam, 50 points, clear enough.  Carb/Intake.. same same. 

Sooo, also, you know you could get the 390 horse 427 in the 68 Cougar.. Same exact platform.. so am I correct in thinking that would also be a no pointer?  A 150 point 427 powered Mustang would sure be fun.  It would stop five minutes at a time a lot, but it would be fun....