jlucas

Fire system age rule

I searched and did not find anything so forgive me if this has been discussed.  I just sent this to the board.

Mike (& all),

I'm all for increased safety but I can't but be appalled new "service life" requirement for fire systems.
"Systems shall have a maximum field service life of 6 years (SFI) or 10 years (FIA) from the original date of installation."

What evidence is this based on?  I've been racing for 20 years and I have never see a fire system issue due to age if the bottles have been serviced.  BY FAR the issues are with poor installation or lack of driver familiarity with how to properly engage the system. 

Please help me understand how this type of 6 year limitation can be justified!

Anyone else think 6 years is a ridiculous rule?
Jeremy
  • Thanks 1

From a practical sense, the bottle is the sfi approved part of the system (only thing with a tag). Keeping that up to date should pass the only method tech has of enforcement, looking at the tag.

The refiller will stop recertification of bottles after a certain age, as the hydro test makes it less economically feasible. Depending on sale price it might be just as cheap to get the whole system at that point, in particular if you use the plastic tube type. 

For you own safety make sure the nozzle size and count matches the bottle. I am contemplating using an old out of spec system as an engine only "backup" suppression system that could be used to put out an engine fire without popping the main fire system (and spraying you inside the cab).   

You make a good point!  I had a brand new 4l bottle in my car at Charlotte.  I had 4 or 5 nozzles (whatever the kit came with).  When I pulled the handle, it kinda oozed out.  It definitely did NOT spray like I thought it should.  

I think I had too many nozzles.   Gonna use less and place them better for this build.

Which way do you think 6 years is ridiculous?  Too long or not long enough?

Edited by wvumtnbkr