Fuel cell location

So I’m in the process of installing a fuel cell in my Cobalt.  The stock tank is plastic and located ahead of the rear axle (beam).  It’s very low.  Current f/r spilt is 65(f) and 35(r).  

The car is pretty decently balanced as it sits.  Slight bit of oversteer when trail braking. Stock rear camber is basically zero.  

Im very new to a fwd car.  I can install the fuel cell either in front of the axle or behind.  Behind is easier from a fabrication standpoint, and an exhaust routing standpoint, but would increase rear weight percentage.  

Which way should I go?

1 hour ago, petawawarace said:

So I’m in the process of installing a fuel cell in my Cobalt.  The stock tank is plastic and located ahead of the rear axle (beam).  It’s very low.  Current f/r spilt is 65(f) and 35(r).  

The car is pretty decently balanced as it sits.  Slight bit of oversteer when trail braking. Stock rear camber is basically zero.  

Im very new to a fwd car.  I can install the fuel cell either in front of the axle or behind.  Behind is easier from a fabrication standpoint, and an exhaust routing standpoint, but would increase rear weight percentage.  

Which way should I go?

A big consideration is the metal bulkhead that has to separate the fuel cell from the driver compartment. It's pretty easy if the cell is in a stock trunk area. Difficult if it's around the back seat area (unless it's fully underneath the back seat sheet metal).

I try to err on the side of simplicity and ease of fabrication. And ease of servicing. 

I also hear some FWD guys gripe about how much front weight they have. Too much front weight is a bad thing, but how much is too much? I haven't the answer to that.

I would put it in the back.

It would be easier to put further back. But I’m decent with the fab side of things so either one is not a big issue.